Informatics Seminars: Fall 2017

Informatics Seminars provide an opportunity for discussion of internal and external research in informatics. Informatics Seminars are usually scheduled for each Tuesday from 12:30 to 1:30 pm during the Spring and Fall semesters. The Seminars are required for informatics students.

  • August 22, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Sue Boren, Patricia Alafaireet, Mihail Popescu
    Topic: Expectation of Project Thesis options; Time Management: Setting a Plan and Sticking to it
  • August 29, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: David Moxley
    Topic: Literature Search and Retrieval Skills
  • September 5, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30 pm)
    Speakers:HMI Informatics Faculty
    Topic: Faculty Discussion with Students on Project Ideas and Options
  • September 12, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers:HMI Informatics Faculty
    Topic: Faculty Discussion with Students on Project Ideas and Options
  • September 19, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers:HMI Informatics Faculty
    Topic: How to Get From an Idea to a Project; Structuring a Research Question; Complete Template and Brainstorm
  • September 26, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Abu Mosa
    Topic: Sources of Data; What Data are Available
  • October 3, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Lincoln Sheets
    Topic: Sources of Data; What Data are Available
  • October 10, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Mihail Popescu
    Topic: Python 1
  • October 17, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Mihail Popescu
    Topic: Python 2
  • October 24, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Mihail Popescu
    Topic: Python 3
  • October 31, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: Mihail Popescu
    Topic: Python 4
  • November 7, 2017: NO FORUM
  • November 14, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers:HMI Informatics Faculty
    Topic: Assistance Session to Prepare Poster
  • November 21, 2017: NO FORUM
  • November 28, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers:HMI Informatics Faculty
    Topic: Students Present Ideas, Aims and Analysis Plan in an Electronic Poster Format
  • December 5, 2017: Tuesday Forum (Room: CE705, 12:30-1:30pm)
    Speakers: TBA
    Topic: TBA
  • -->